What are the penalties for DUI in Texas?

What are the penalties for DUI in Texas?

On Behalf of | Sep 7, 2021 | Uncategorized

Driving under the influence in Texas can result in serious penalties and consequences of the accused drivers. Driving facing drunk driving charges should be familiar with the penalties and consequences they may be facing and how they can defend themselves against them.

Penalties associated with a DUI

The penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) depend on the number of offenses including:

  • Penalties for a first offense DUI: the penalties for a first offense DUI includes up to a $2,000 fine, up to 180 days in jail with 3 mandatory days in jail and the loss of a driver’s license for up to one year.
  • Penalties for a second offense DUI: the penalties for a second offense DUI includes up to $4,000 fine, one month to a year in jail and the loss of a driver’s license for up to 2 years.
  • Penalties for a third offense DUI: the penalties for a third offense DUI includes a $10,000 fine, 2 years to 10 years in prison and the loss of a driver’s license for up to 2 years.

Additional fines may also be assigned by the state if the accused individual is convicted and sentenced. DUI charges can have a significant impact on accused drivers and can leave them without a driver’s license and facing the loss of freedom and a threat to their future.

Criminal defense options are essential to help mitigate the potential penalties and consequences of drunk driving charges. Accused drivers should be familiar with how to develop a criminal defense strategy. The criminal defense process begins when the accused driver is pulled over and continues through the charging process which is why drivers who are facing accusations of driving under the influence need to know how to protect themselves.