Key points about DUI in Texas

Key points about DUI in Texas

| Jul 6, 2020 | Uncategorized

In Texas, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can have severe consequences. A conviction may lead to jail time, fines and lost driving privileges. Depending on the severity of the charges, the penalties can be significantly enhanced.

There are key points to understand beforehand. A common problem when people get behind the wheel after drinking is that they are unaware when they have had too much to drink. Various factors are part of this determination including how many drinks the person has had, how much he or she weighs, and if food was eaten. Alcohol and its aftereffects can differ based on the person.

Registering a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to be considered drunk under state law is .08. There is a $500 fine for driving with an open container of alcohol. If there is a DUI with a child under 15 in the vehicle, it can result in up to $10,000 in fines, two years in jail, and a six-month license suspension.

The number of times a driver is convicted of DUI will impact the sentence. A first offense will have a fine of up to $2,000, between three days and 180 days in jail, and a license suspension for up to one year. A second offense will result in a fine of up to $4,000, one month to one year in jail, and a license suspension for up to two years. If it is a third offense, there will be a $10,000 fine, jail for two to 10 years, and a two-year license suspension. Given the harsh penalties of a DUI conviction, it is imperative to consider all alternatives when formulating a defense. Consulting with an experienced criminal defense law firm can help with scrutinizing the evidence and seeking a positive outcome.